Tasty Tuesday: Rack of Lamb Persillade

Rack of Lamb Persillade

I came across this recipe over two years ago on the FoodNetwork website while I was searching for dinner recipes for New Year’s Eve. I was celebrating the evening with my boyfriend and grandmother, and I wanted to make something that was easy, but absolutely special and delicious. I’ve always been a fan of lamb and Ina Garten’s Rack of Lamb Persillade recipe seemed perfect for my special New Year’s Eve dinner. It was a big hit with my grandmother and boyfriend, who gobbled down every last bit of the rack. Ever since then, it has become my go-to dinner recipe for special occasions. But what’s great about this recipe is that it is so simple to make that you don’t have to reserve it for just special occasions!

Rack of Lamb Persillade

Here’s what you need:

Ingredients

* 3 small or 2 large racks of lamb, frenched*
* Good olive oil
* 1 1/2 teaspoons kosher salt
* 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
* 2 cups loosely packed fresh parsley leaves
* 1 tablespoon chopped garlic cloves (3 cloves)
* 1 cup fresh white bread crumbs
* 2 teaspoons grated lemon zest (2 lemons)
* 4 tablespoons (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, melted

(*This just means that the fat cap and cartilage are removed from the rack.) (Also, I only used one rack of lamb for this tutorial because I was feeding just myself and my boyfriend.) 

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 450 degrees F.

2. Place the racks in a roasting pan, fat side up. Rub the tops with olive oil and sprinkle with the salt and pepper. Roast the lamb for 10 minutes.

Drizzling oil onto the rack of lamb.
Next, salt and pepper has been rubbed onto the rack.

3. Meanwhile, place the parsley and garlic in the bowl of a food processor fitted with the steel blade and process until they’re both finely minced. Add the bread crumbs and lemon zest and process for a second until combined. (I made mine ahead of time and froze it until I was ready to use it.)

Bread crumby goodness!

4. Take the lamb out of the oven and quickly press the parsley mixture on top of the meat. Drizzle with the melted butter and return immediately to the oven and roast for another 15 minutes. (The meat will be between rare and medium rare if you follow the 15 minutes. My boyfriend prefers medium, so I cooked my rack of lamb for about 20 minutes after I breaded it.)

This is the rack of lamb after it has been roasting in the oven for about 10 minutes.
Be generous with those bread crumbs! They’re delicious!
Drizzle on some olive oil. (Or butter…)

5. Take the lamb out of the oven and cover with aluminum foil. Allow it to rest for 15 minutes, cut in double chops, serve, and enjoy!!

Look at those roasted bread crumbs!
Enjoy!

I hope you enjoyed this recipe! Have you tried this one before? Let me know what you think in the comments section below!

Thanks for visiting! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Tasty Tuesday: Rack of Lamb Persillade

Leave a Reply

