Jet Set: The Duomo in Milan, Italy

All week I have been dreaming about the trip that I took to Northern Italy last fall. I had a wonderful time visiting some truly beautiful and less-traveled cities with my aunt, and I was also very lucky to spend my birthday with her while we were in Italy.

The first city that I visited in Italy was one of the most famous fashion capitals of the world: Milan. I have never seen so many people conscious of how they looked and dressed. And I’m not talking about just the young adults, but the young and the very old alike dressed in the chicest clothing.

One of my favorite places that my aunt and I visited was the famous Duomo di Milano. The Duomo is a large Gothic cathedral in the heart of Milan, and it is also one of the oldest standing cathedrals in the world. It’s construction began in the 1300’s, but the cathedral is built on top of ancient basilicas which predate the 5th century AD. The cathedral is absolutely stunning, especially viewing the city of Milan from the top of the towers. It was incredible walking into the cathedral and staring up into the vaulted ceilings. It was truly one of the most beautiful cathedrals that I have ever visited.

Here are a few of my favorite pictures from my visit to the Duomo di Milano:

This is the front of the Duomo in Milan. As you can see, the entire courtyard was packed with people, which made it really difficult to take a decent shot of the cathedral.
I loved the floor of the Duomo. I thought that the marble and stone inlay was absolutely gorgeous.
While you cannot see how long this candle box extends, I was amazed by the sheer number of prayer candles. I lit one in remembrance of my grandfather.
These are some of the outside structures of the Duomo. They are huge flying buttresses which extend from the roof to the side of the Duomo.
Here you can see one of the spires protruding from a flying buttress. (Insert giggle here.)
I love this picture. It seemed that the towers and buttresses extended forever!
Here are three towers. I’m not sure what the significance of the three figures atop the towers represents, but I loved how they almost seem to be reaching the heavens.

Have you visited the Duomo di Milano before? Have you visited Milan? Feel free to leave a comment below!

Thanks for visiting my blog! Be sure to check out the Venture & Roam Etsy shop and the Venture & Roam Facebook page!

2 thoughts on “Jet Set: The Duomo in Milan, Italy

Leave a Reply

