A Couple of Days in Cos Cob & Easter Brunch in Cleveland

We’ve had a whirlwind trip so far since we started our vacation in the U.S., and we’ve been having so much fun that I haven’t had a chance to post an update until now. 

Our first stop began where my Uncle Peter, Aunt Laney, and cousins Alec and Emma live in the quiet suburb of Cos Cob, Connecticut. I grew up visiting my family in Connecticut each year, and I always enjoy my visits with them.

We arrived early in the morning at JFK after taking a 14 hour flight from Dubai. The weather was cold and crisp, but we enjoyed the change in temperature from the perpetual heat in Dubai. We took an Uber from JFK to Cos Cob, staring out the windows at the city around us as we drove North to Cos Cob, and I reminisced with my husband about my childhood vacations in Connecticut. We arrived at my Uncle and Aunt’s house and we’re greeted by my Aunt Laney. 

Venture & Roam: a backyard in Cos Cob Connecticut, early spring in Cos Cob Connecticut
My Uncle and Aunt’s Backyard in Cos Cob 
Venture & Roam: cardinal and other birds eating bird food, ski boot bird house
Cardinals and other birds having an early morning breakfast

After settling in and having a delicious lunch of venison pasta made by my Aunt, renowned for her family cooking and avid Italian food fan (check out her blog all about Italy at Ortensia Blu), we spent some time catching up with my uncle and cousin Alec. Later that day, my uncle and aunt drove us to visit some family at a community park near Danbury, Connecticut. We soaked in the Spring air and enjoyed the sunshine before heading to a pizzeria for some delicious pepperoni pizza. 

The next day we drove to one of the best bagel shops in the Tri-State area, Upper Crust Bagel Co. in Greenwich, Connecticut. I have eaten countless bagels in my life, but the Upper Crust bagels are some of the best bagels I’ve ever had: they have a great crust with a chewy center, and the flavors are incredible. 

Venture & Roam: Everything and Onion bagels from Upper Crust Bagel Co, bagels,
Everything and Onion Bagels from Upper Crust Bagel Co.

It was a rainy day, so we drove around the beaches of Old Greenwich before heading to Greenwich Avenue for some lunch at Méli-Mélo. My husband and I each had a French onion soup and we shared a savory ham and cheese crepe. We did some light window shopping up and down the avenue, stopping at a store called Giggle to look at the Bugaboo stroller and other baby accessories. 

After Greenwich Avenue, we drove to my great Uncle Sy and great Aunt Hellie’s house to have a nice visit. My Uncle Sy is my grandfather’s first cousin, and he and Hellie may be two of the most kind and interesting people I have ever known. Having grown up in an era of effortless elegance on the Upper East side of Manhattan, and having traveled extensively all over the globe, Hellie and Sy have so many stories to tell. I wish we could have spent more time with them, but I cherish every visit with them.

We finished our last full day in Cos Cob by having dinner with Aunt Laney, Uncle Peter and Alec at an Asian fusion restaurant called Asiana. My husband and I have been craving General Tso’s chicken, a truly American-Chinese dish that you can’t get anywhere outside of the United States. We laughed, joked, and stuffed our faces full of delicious food before heading home for the evening to pack and prepare ourselves for the next leg of our trip. 

Venture & Roam: family picture at Asiana in Cos Cob near Greenwich Connecticut
Family Picture in Cos Cob

We were glad to have a quiet visit in Cos Cob. Our trip to Connecticut was short, but sweet, and we had a lovely time visiting our family. We left feeling grateful for such a wonderful visit, and we cannot wait to return.

We flew to my hometown, Cleveland, Ohio, to spend time with my family for the next week, and our first day here was busy. After arriving at my mother’s house and settling in, we drove to visit my friend Alex and celebrate her birthday with some of our closest friends from Cleveland. We had a wonderful time chatting and reminiscing about our pasts, and we gobbled up some incredible pizza at Vero Pizza Napoletana (their pizza crust is crazy good). 

We celebrated Easter brunch the next morning at my mother’s house, where almost my entire family on my mother’s side gathered to enjoy delicious homemade quiche, bagels and lox, fruit salad, and an assortment of Easter candy. It was so nice to spend time with my family, and I savored every moment with them. Living so far away makes me truly appreciate any time I am able to spend with them. 

Venture & Roam: Easter Brunch dining table, pink dining table setting, chocolate bunnies, pink table setting
My Mother’s Easter dining room table

We left my mother’s house after brunch and drove to visit my father and his family on the other side of Cleveland. My husband and I relaxed at my dad’s apartment, looking over old pictures and laughing at the fashion styles of the mid to late 80’s. We had a delicious home cooked dinner made by my dad before visiting more relatives at my Aunt’s house for some dessert. We had so much fun catching up and chatting, that we never actually ate dessert. 

We have another five days in Cleveland, so I’ll have plenty of time to spend with my family before we head to Boston and New York City. I cannot wait to see what adventures we have in store here in Cleveland, and I will be sure to write about them as they happen this week.

Until next time: Life is short, share in the adventure!

2 thoughts on “A Couple of Days in Cos Cob & Easter Brunch in Cleveland

Leave a Reply

