My Whole30: Week Two

I’ve made it through my second week of the Whole30 program, and it wasn’t an easy week. 

Last Saturday, I took the standard 3-hour glucose tolerance test that almost every pregnant woman takes towards the end of her second trimester. While I have a history of diabetes in the family (and I have a serious sweet tooth), I figured that I wouldn’t be one of the 10% of women that are diagnosed with gestational diabetes. Well, I was wrong. 

My doctor informed me that, despite the fact that my readings were normal for the fasting and 2-hour mark blood samples, my 1-hour blood sample post the sugary syrupy drink was 3.3 points higher than it should have been. I have no idea what that means, but she said she considered this a sign of gestational diabetes, or at the very least that I was developing it. 

She gave me a choice: either prick my finger 4 times a day and watch what I eat, or take Glucophage and really restrict my diet. I’m super afraid of needles, so I opted for the second choice. 

Her diet was basically a low-fat version of the Whole30, but it restricted the amount of fruit that I could consume in a day to two servings… a big bummer for me since I was living off of fruit for the first week of Whole30. Restricting the amount of fruit that I consumed was by far the hardest part of my second week.

I also decided that I needed to test my blood sugar in addition to taking the medication, because I want to make sure that I’m healthy for my baby. I found that eating a small sweet potato, something that I lived on for the first week of Whole30, spiked my blood sugar well above the level it should have been after 1 hour of eating my meal. So no baked sweet potatoes for me. 

So you must be thinking…. If I’m not eating breads, grains, dairy, peanuts, soy, and the other inflammatory foods restricted on the Whole30 diet, and I couldn’t eat unlimited fruits and sweet potatoes… what in the world did I eat for a week? 


WEEK TWO FOODS:


Breakfasts: 

a scrambled egg, homemade Larabar, and a cup of homemade bone broth

Snacks: 

an apple, pear, or kiwi with almonds, or a cup of baby carrots

Lunch: 

mixed lettuce with half a chicken breast, olive oil and balsamic vinegar, or leftovers from dinner

Dinner: 

steamed or roasted vegetables, baked chicken or salmon, steamed kale, and homemade guacamole. 




I definitely had a hard adjustment taking out most of my favorite fruits (since fruit can be high in natural sugar…). And eliminating my favorite go-to starch (sweet potato) was definitely hard.

I’m going to see if adding more fruit will spike my blood sugars, but so far my levels have been way below the max level. But until then, I’ll have to learn to curb my sweet tooth and eat more vegetables. 

Are you participating in the Whole30? Or have you completed the Whole30 program? Did you have gestational diabetes during your pregnancy? Share your comments below.

And don’t forget: Life is short, share in the adventure!





2 thoughts on “My Whole30: Week Two

  1. *ashley* says:

    You're doing so well! I'm glad y'all figured this out early. We have a good diet plan that takes out all sugars and starches. When you're done with whole 30 if you're interested, let me know.

    Like

  2. Samantha Schuermann says:

    Thanks, Ashley! Yes, its a very good thing that we caught my gestational diabetes early. And I suppose its a good reality check that I can't eat whatever I want without consequences. I would love to hear more about your diet plan! Feel free to share it here too! 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

