Perfecting My Crafts: Intro to Sewing Class Part 2

IMG_3367

Last week I took the third and final sewing class in my three-part Intro to Sewing course at Craftland. The entire class was spent making a little zippered pencil bag with lining, and it was not as easy to make as I thought it would be!

We began the class by learning how to cut the fabric properly using a rotary cutter, a self-healing mat, and a large see-through ruler. This was the point at which I fell behind my classmates, and I never quite recovered my time! There I was, still trying to figure out how to cut my fabric perfectly, and my peers had already moved on to sewing the fabric onto the zipper!! It only got worse from there….

As my classmates moved onto sewing the outer and inner fabrics to the zipper, I struggled to pin the fabrics and zipper together. Then, as they whizzed through the next steps of making the bag, my trusty little Ikea sewing machine began to jam for no reason at all causing me to fall even further behind.

I finished the bag in the end after a few curse words and a tear or two. While my first project is not perfect, I think that I turned out pretty ok. Who needs perfect anyway?

IMG_3369

I was proud that I had made this little bag. It was something that I never thought that I could do, and I was so inspired by this project that I made a bag at home this week with some leftover fabric and supplies. The second time around was much more successful, but still not perfect. But with a little practice, I think that I’ll be able to get better each time!

 

Have you taken any sewing classes? Share your stories below!

Life is short, share in the adventure!

2 thoughts on “Perfecting My Crafts: Intro to Sewing Class Part 2

  1. pheonixx23 says:

    I feel like crafts tend to be more fun when we are able to let go a little and accept that they aren’t going to be perfect. Most of the time others won’t, or can’t, notice what we think of as mistakes. At least, that’s what I’ve found with crochet! You just have to make it work for you, even if it’s not how it’s “supposed” to be.

    Like

    • ventureandroam says:

      I think you’re absolutely right! It is definitely a learning process, and part of the fun comes from not worrying about the final outcome. I just tried to make the same bag with some different fabric, and I totally messed it up. But at least I can learn from my mistakes (if I can figure out what I did wrong this time, haha), and try to make another one. I can’t wait to take the quilting and pattern classes to get a taste of some more intermediate sewing techniques!

      Like

Leave a Reply

