My Mosaic Project: Part 2

Venture & Roam: Mosaic Lotus Project, mosaic tray, mosaics, lotus flower, mosaics for beginners,

I finally began to cut and glue tiles onto my mosaic project today, and I have come away with a deeper appreciation for this particular form of art!

In the two hours that I attended my class, I managed to successfully cut, file, and glue ONLY 22 tiles! (And I was hoping to get this project done before the baby arrives in about 8 weeks!!!)

Venture & Roam: Mosaic Lotus Project, mosaic tray, mosaics, lotus flower, mosaics for beginners,

I began the class by learning the basics of using two common nippers, the glass clipper with two round blades and the compound tile nipper. Each nipper is used in different ways depending on the type of tile or mosaic medium that is being cut.

It is not easy to cut tiles perfectly, and sometimes it takes a couple of tries to get the perfect fitting piece. I was surprised at how difficult it was to cut through some of the dark coral resin tiles, while cutting through the glass tiles was a delicate process.

I think that the process will move faster once I begin to get the hang of cutting tiles, but for now I will have to make due with my turtle pace. As they say, slow and steady wins the race, so I hope this mosaic tray will be spectacular once it is finished!

After today, I certainly appreciate how difficult and time-consuming it is to make truly magnificent pieces of mosaic art. I cannot begin to imagine how long it must take a mosaic artist to create masterpieces and large works of art. The precision that is required to make a design look perfect is certainly a gift.

Check back next week to see if I improve my speed!

Life is short, share in the adventure!

 

4 thoughts on “My Mosaic Project: Part 2

Leave a Reply

