Perfecting My Crafts: Nesting for Baby by Sewing the Easiest Burp Cloths

After unexpectedly flying back home to Cleveland to receive medical care for the last few weeks of my pregnancy, I have been fortunate to spend a lot of quality time with my mom in her craft room.

My mother’s craft room is really something to envy. With closets of spare fabric, an old Singer sewing machine, paints and canvas, and even more craft supplies to satisfy any creative fancy, there is never a reason for boredom.

With baby arriving soon, I’ve felt the need to nest, and I thought that there was no better way to fulfil this need than keeping up my sewing skills and making personalized burp cloths.

Venture & Roam: Making the Easiest Burp Cloths Ever

After searching for sewing patterns and tutorials, I found a great tutorial from the blog Diary of a Quilter on Pinterest for making the “Easiest Burp-Cloth Ever”. It really is an easy tutorial to follow, and it makes the process of creating personalized burp cloths a breeze. I created my own template using a Welche’s Fruit Snack box, and I used Gerber Organic cloth diapers as the foundation for my burp cloths.

I rummaged through my mom’s piles of cute fabrics, and selected some of the prettiest patterns to create these colorful burp clothes. It was so much fun playing with different fabric combinations for some of my burp cloths. I added grosgrain ribbon and rick rack to some of the burp cloths as well.

Venture & Roam: Spare Scrap Fabrics

These burp cloths really are the easiest things to  make! Each burp cloth took me almost no time to sew, and the most time-consuming part of this sewing project is picking out the right fabrics.

Venture & Roam: Making the Easiest Burp Cloths Ever, Mixing Fabric Patterns

Venture & Roam: Making the Easiest Burp Cloths Ever, Using Amy Butler Fabrics, Mixing Fabric Patterns

Have you ever made homemade burp cloths? Do you have a favorite tutorial or pattern? Share your experience below!

Life is short, share in the adventure!

One thought on “Perfecting My Crafts: Nesting for Baby by Sewing the Easiest Burp Cloths

  1. Jennifer says:

    I don’t know much about sewing but I can across this on Pinterest. I had 10 (yes 10) friends have babies this year and they’re now moving into the “I need a bib 24/7” faze so this might come in handy for you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

